Installing Polysex mod, help?

frontpage Forums Product questions and support polysex Installing Polysex mod, help?

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 16 total)
  • Author
    Anonymous

So I’ve soldered everything (from what I can tell) needed to get the Polysex mod going. But right now my Polysix is only making strange noises, and not on all keys, with most controls on the keyboard (from Polysex mod or otherwise) not doing much (and it worked fine before starting the mod). I’m guessing more than one thing is wrong, but not sure what. I’m a very beginner solderer, but I did check for continuity, and most of my links seem good.

Here are my questions:
    1) I ‘think’ I have the new board model, but if not, that would explain the problem. There is a small board connected to my 366, but it doesn’t say 396 anywhere on it, and from what I can tell the connections look different from that shown in the picture of 396 in the Tubbutec construction manual. I don’t think I messed this up, but if I did it would explain a lot.

2) I had a lot of difficulty soldering to the IC 30 chip, and had to redo it several times because the solder smeared along all many of the top connections (I need a smaller soldering iron) and I worry if I may have fried the chip (or another component along the way). How would I know?

3) any ideas on how to track down what I’m doing wrong? I’m thinking to start to double check I didn’t wire any of my connections wrong, but this sort of large scale problem seems more than just one wire in the wrong place, no? I’ll try to post pictures in a followup post.

Anonymous

here’s some pics. please excuse my terrible soldering!

Anonymous

whole board

Anonymous

as messy as the solder joints look, they don’t touch, I made sure with the cutter blade.

Anonymous

I fixed the missing connections at the bottom of the pitch section after this pic was taken, and the audio after that was what I checked and it didn’t work.

Anonymous