Reply To: Octave overlap in uTune?

frontpage Forums Product questions and support µTune Octave overlap in uTune? Reply To: Octave overlap in uTune?

Anonymous
Inactive

Thanks Tobias.

The extra explanation is helpful. I was initially confused due to having used another software which includes the 1/1 in the ratio strings. LMSO is one such program I use quite a bit. It’s no longer available it seems but it is pretty good at playing all the various tuning file formats and exceptional at creating non-octave scale tunings.

Speaking of which…

I have been using LMSO for quite a few years and in conjunction with my DAW (Cubase) and the MOTM 650 MIDI to CV/GATE module to do polyphonic alternate tuning work. I was excited about µTune as a way to add something to the setup. I have been trying to duplicate some octave scales so that both are playing the same thing as a simple experiment and exercise in understanding the tools better. I notice I have to offset one or the other a bit with a semitone voltage in order to get everything to work out. µTune has the perfect ability to do this with the keyboard mapping so thanks for that. I also have to use a standards module to finish off the offset.

I am using a Synthesizers.com Q123 module which has octave and semitone selection as well as inverted mode. I did check often to make certain the vco’s were all tuned initially to the same pitch/voltage before applying any exponential control voltages from the midi to cv modules and that an appropriate warm up settling time had occurred.